the moveable feasts

Key Lime Pie

with 9 comments

Key Lime Pie

Key lime pie is hands down, my all-time favorite dessert for the summer. And I know this is a little selfish and assuming of me, but I’m pretty sure it should be yours too. Even though I definitely wouldn’t refuse a big slice of it in the wintertime, it seems perfect for summer. It’s tart and light, but still creamy. It’s chilled and refreshing, and needs nothing more than a dollop of lightly sweetened whipped cream. And need I say anything about a crust comprised of graham crackers, sugar and butter? Plus, the filling is made up of only three ingredients and the whole pie takes about as much effort to make as it does to eat.

Graham Cracker Crust

Graham Cracker Crust

This is the best recipe for key lime pie, but to be honest with you it’s the only one I’ve ever tried. But you see, thing is, I can’t bring myself to even look at another recipe. I’ve never tasted a better version of this, so why rock the boat if it makes you and everyone else around you happy and infinitely satisfied? Yep, I think I’ll stick with the one I’ve got.

Limes for the pie

The cover recipe on Bon Appetit’s August 2011 issue is a spin on this classic: a lime meringue pie with a blackberry swirl topping. I’m not one for berries (as we all know–one of these days I’ll stop mentioning my shortcomings when it comes to food preferences), but I think it’s a neat idea to keep in mind. Still, this recipe is a classic, and a true pleaser. If you don’t have your go-to summer dessert already, I have no problem sharing mine.

Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Pie

From Cook’s Illustrated

4 teaspoons grated lime zest
1/2 cup lime juice from 3 to 4 limes
4 large egg yolks
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

11 graham crackers , processed to fine crumbs (1 1/4 cups)
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For the filling, whisk zest and yolks in medium bowl until tinted light green, about 2 minutes. Beat in milk, then juice; set aside at room temperature to thicken.

For the crust, adjust oven rack to center position and heat oven to 325 degrees. Mix crumbs and sugar in medium bowl. Add butter; stir with fork until well blended. Pour mixture into 9-inch pie pan; press crumbs over bottom and up sides of pan to form even crust. Bake until lightly browned and fragrant, about 15 minutes. Transfer pan to wire rack; cool to room temperature, about 20 minutes.

Pour lime filling into crust; bake until center is set, yet wiggly when jiggled, 15 to 17 minutes. Return pie to wire rack; cool to room temperature. Refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours. (Can be covered with lightly oiled or oil-sprayed plastic wrap laid directly on filling and refrigerated up to 1 day.) Serve cold with a dollop of whipped cream.

Note: I’ve linked this up at Sweets for Saturday!

Written by Amy

August 7, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Pies and Tarts

Tagged with , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This key lime pie was the best I’ve ever had…much more flavorful than the one I used to make from a recipe published by a great restaurant! Thanks Amy :)

    financier

    August 9, 2011 at 10:05 pm

  2. Your blog is lovely and I’m so glad I found it! (Also, I should throw in that I totally agree with your thoughts on the Food Network in the chickpea post – I feel EXACTLY the same way). Lots of yummy things here, and this pie looks fantastic. I’ve never made key lime pie before, so really want to give this one a try. Thanks!

    Janae

    August 9, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    • Thank you so much, your comment just made my day! Good luck with the key lime pie and tell me how it goes. :)

      Amy

      August 10, 2011 at 9:06 am

  3. That first picture made my mouth water! I can’t remember the last time I had key lime pie…actually, I don’t think I’ve ever made it but have ordered it a few times at restaurants. But when I do, this will be my recipe! Lime sounds so refreshing for the summer. Glad you liked the herb butter idea-so simple and yes, the CSA is the greatest. Waiting for the tomatoes to start pouring in ;)

    greenthyme

    August 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm

  4. What a beautiful pie – I bet this would be even better with whipped cream or toasted meringue on top! Key lime pie is one of my favorite pies, too!

    Sara

    August 14, 2011 at 7:49 am

  5. You should try it with actual Key Limes. They can often be purchased nationwide at Whole Foods.

    Miss Jady

    September 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  6. Although, I am sure this pie tastes great, it is not a classic Key Lime Pie when you aren’t using Key limes. Key limes are yellow when ripe, and the classic recipe doesn’t use the zest.

    Steph

    February 15, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  7. This key lime pie looks delicious. I agree that it is a great summertime dessert, but I wouldn’t refuse a piece any season at all.

    frombeyondmykitchenwindow

    July 7, 2012 at 3:25 am

  8. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% certain.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

    Ford Ranger

    November 14, 2013 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers