the moveable feasts

Crunchy Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

with 15 comments

"money shot" ?

My boyfriend’s mom handed me the recipe for these cookies, saying they were the best cookies she’d ever had. When I saw the name of the cookies, Crunchy Oatmeal Cookies, I was a little surprised, and maybe a tiny bit disappointed. Crunchy? I’ve always been of the soft, chewy cookie lover group—those crispy melty chocolate chip cookies that are constantly churned out of homes for a from-scratch treat never did it for me, even as a child.

Rather, my ideal cookie has always been soft and soft with a side of chewy. And don’t get me wrong, I still have a huge weakness for that kind of cookie (as in these chewy, cherry walnut oatmeal cookies). But, you know, I’m starting to believe that maybe this cookie here, this crunchy oatmeal and nut cookie, is exactly the type of thing a home-baked cookie should be.

cookie dough, always welcome

Now after have made these cookies a few times, I can safely say that these cookies have made that exclusive list in my head of personal favorite, go-to cookies, alongside only two other recipes. And no matter what pre-conceived cookie preferences you think you might have, I’m going to be a little pushy and say that these should become one of your favorites, too.

The dough requires no chilling, which leads the cookies to flatten out a bit as they bake, leaving a crunchy exterior and a chewy, softer bite. Thanks to not putting them on a greased cookie sheet (and the kind of ridiculous amount of sugar in the recipe), the bottoms caramelize and become a bit crispy—but not crispy like the aforementioned chocolate chip cookie that is basically a cracker. Crispy like caramel-y, musky-sweet crispy. Other than that, the flavors are mild: toasted almonds (my preferred), coconut, oatmeal and brown sugar. They come together perfectly, in a soft-spoken but perfect way. There may not be any better accompaniment to a glass of milk.

crunchy chewy oatmeal cookies

If you’re still, still! unconvinced about trying these out because, maybe like me you’re a little averse to the run-of-the-mill crunchy cookie, at least try refrigerating these before popping them in the oven. (It makes a lot of dough so you might end up doing that anyway, like me, in order to save yourself from eating the whole batch in one night.) Once chilled the cookies don’t spread nearly as much as normally—leaving a cookie that is soft, gooey, chewy in the middle that still has a bite around the edges. It’s differently textured, but in a good way. Because, as I’ve realized after making these, there’s not just one right answer when it comes to baking cookies.

T_T

Crunchy Oatmeal Cookies
Recipe from boyfriend’s Mom’s friend (how’s that for connections, eh?)
Makes about 2 and a half dozen cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt (sounds like a lot but it balances the sugar really, really well)
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
2 cups dark brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cup rolled oats
1 cup flaked coconut
1 cup nuts, chopped and toasted (I prefer almonds, but of course walnuts and pecans are up for grabs)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk (or sift) together the flour, baking soda and powder and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl or stand mixer, cream butter and sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat well, making sure to scrape down sides of bowl afterwards.  With the mixer running, gradually add flour mixture until combined. Stir in rolled oats, coconut and nuts.

Shape into walnut sized balls and place on an ungreased cookie sheet, making sure to leave a few inches in between them. Bake in the preheated oven for about 12 minutes, until browned along the edges and top. Enjoy with a glass of milk or, as my boyfriend and I did, with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

don't really like this shot

Written by Amy

February 7, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Posted in Cookies and Bars

Tagged with ,

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh wow, these look sooo good. I’m with you on the soft, chewy cookie debate BUT I do like a crispy edge so these are absolutely perfect. I wish I was at home so I could bake up a batch right now! Love the idea of serving with vanilla ice cream – it’s the same sort of flavour/temperature contrast as having them with a glass of milk but much more decadent :-)

    thelittleloaf

    February 8, 2012 at 1:37 am

  2. I love a cookie with nuts! These look great, Amy. I’m definitely more of a chewy-cookie person than a crunchy one, but you make a pretty persuasive case. I’m out of rolled outs right now, but when I get some, I’ll know which recipe to turn to.

    Katie

    February 8, 2012 at 5:40 am

  3. Aside from the fact that I would leave out the coconut (not my favorite ingredient), these look delicious! And beautiful photographs too! :)

    erin

    February 8, 2012 at 5:55 am

  4. I cook for a outdoor education and retreat center and am always looking for tasty and sturdy cookies for the kids to take on a hike with them. This looks like a winner, I am going to try it today. Beautiful pictures and post.

    chefconnie

    February 8, 2012 at 6:06 am

    • Ah thanks, Connie. Let me know how they turn out and how the kids like them!

      Amy

      February 8, 2012 at 8:26 am

  5. Hmm, these look great! I love the fact that you can either make them very crispy or still gooey inside yet crispier on the outsides so you can bake what you’re in the mood for :)

    mixxedtape

    February 8, 2012 at 6:28 am

  6. I am VERY much craving a cookie now! I’m also normally a soft, chewy and BIG cookie kind of girl… but maybe I could branch out a bit.

    What are your other two favourites!?!

    Em (Wine and Butter)

    February 8, 2012 at 7:52 am

    • They’d have to be the cherry walnut oatmeal cookies I linked to in the post, as well as chocolate crinkle cookies. Both are on the blog. ;)

      Amy

      February 8, 2012 at 1:20 pm

  7. don’t you find it a little perverse that your “personal favorite, go-to, exclusive-awesome” cookies your very own twin has never tried???? we are blood. send some up promptly please.

    Lindsey

    February 8, 2012 at 9:54 am

  8. The way you felt about “crunchy” cookies is, I hate to admit, the way I feel about any sort of “oatmeal” cookie. I just haven’t, as of yet, been able to get into them. Ever! And I’m an ex-pastry chef! BUT….I think this may just be the recipe that could bring me on the wagon. I am excited to try it…looks delicious!

    rebekka

    February 8, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    • Oh wow, I’ve never heard of anyone being averse to oatmeal cookies! Well I guess we each have our preferences that can’t be understood by others… but definitely give these a try. Or those cherry walnut oatmeal cookies I mentioned in the post, if you’re more into soft, chewy cookies. I’m determined to convince you now ;)

      Amy

      February 8, 2012 at 6:56 pm

  9. Great writing Amy, just love reading your posts! These look great. I love oatmeal cookies but rarely take the time to make them. I’m bookmarking this.

    greenthyme

    February 9, 2012 at 7:17 am

  10. [...] One Year Ago: Crunchy, Chewy Oatmeal Cookies  with Coconut and Nuts [...]

  11. Wow these are amazing. I think that the salt to sugar ratio is perfect, not too sweet, nor too salty.

    Darryl

    June 11, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    • Amazing texture and taste. I stole a little trick from another recipe I found while looking for this one. Add 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice…yummy!

      TCS

      July 14, 2014 at 7:16 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers