the moveable feasts

Chicken Tikka Masala and a Simple Rice Pilaf

with 20 comments

chicken tikka masala

I think I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it now and will most likely say it again some time in the future: I am no authority on Indian cuisine. I go to an Indian restaurant, get a little frustrated when I read the description of every dish as “meat with a blend of herbs and spices” (seriously, how am I supposed to differentiate between the dishes with details like that?), and then blindly point my finger to one of the items on the menu with the hope that I’ll end up liking it. That being said, I always do end up liking it because I happen to think Indian food is very tasty. But still, the point I am attempting to make is that I might be a little more than lost when it comes to understanding the nuances and or really even the basics of Indian food.

salt and spices

(As I am re-reading what I wrote above, I’m starting to realize that the technique I described above of blindly pointing my finger to a random item on the menu because I have no clue of what to pick out is something I employ quite often, and not just in Indian food. This is what I did when I was in Italy and couldn’t read the Italian menus, and what I often do when I am too indecisive to firmly pick something out at any type of restaurant, foreign or not. Actually, now that I’m thinking about it, maybe I have used at least a variation of this technique for some other, somewhat greater, decisions of my life. Like choosing colleges to apply for, or places to apply to work at. Whoops.)

under the broiler, flipped
chicken into sauce

Anyway, it doesn’t take much expertise or active consideration to flip through the glossy pages of my American Test Kitchen Menu Cookbook, spot a pretty picture of chicken tikka masala, hop over to the store to pick up a serrano chili and a bundle of cilantro, and then do the little bit of chopping and stirring that this dish requires. I don’t know much about this dish (ahem, see first sentence of this post), but I do know that it technically didn’t even originate in India but rather in London sometime in the 1970’s. It has, nonetheless, grown to acquire a level of popularity so much so that it is now considered to be the national dish of India. So you see, chicken tikka masala, you and I aren’t so different when it comes to Indian authenticity after all.

a simple rice pilaf
chicken tikka masala

Anyway, no matter the degree of authenticity of this dish or my understanding of the cuisine or the accuracy of my decision-making skills in general, this chicken is just plain good. It’s simple enough for a weeknight sort of meal, and is easy to pair with this simple basmati rice pilaf and some cooked vegetables. The chicken for the masala can be grilled, if summer grilling is on your daily menu in these upcoming months, or it can be cooked under the oven broiler setting, as I did with this version here. After only a few minutes of cooking the chicken, it’s ready to be added to the spicy tomato sauce that is made heavenly with the addition of a bit of cream and some smooth spices (garam masala, I love you). I think this dish becomes exceptionally good after a day or two, once the flavors “meld” or “marry” together or however that goes. My mom brought some leftovers to her work the following day, and once realizing that her delicious-smelling meal did not come from an Indian restaurant, her coworkers promptly asked for the recipe. This recipe is something to keep and take note of, and it doesn’t take any authority on any cuisine to realize that.

tender juicy chicken

Chicken Tikka Masala
Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Menu Cookbook
Serves 5 to 6

If you’re using a very thick greek yogurt brand such as Fage in this recipe, you might want to thin down the yogurt with a few tablespoons of water when making the yogurt mixture for the chicken. 

1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 28 ounces total)
1 cup whole, plain yogurt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
2 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 small to medium onion, diced
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt, or more for taste
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
1 serrano chile, stemmed and seeded, minced
1 tablespoon garam masala
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 tablespoon sugar
2/3 cup heavy cream
minced cilantro, for garnish

To prepare the chicken, combine the salt, cumin, coriander and cayenne pepper in a small bowl. Pat chicken breasts dry with a paper towel and place in a platter or dish. Sprinkle evenly with the spice mixture, mixing and gently pressing to help the spices adhere. Cover the chicken with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes or up to an hour. Whisk yogurt, oil ginger and garlic together in a large bowl and set aside until the chicken is ready to be cooked.

For the masala sauce, heat the oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat until shimmering and hot. Add the onion and 1/4 teaspoon of kosher salt and cook until softened and lightly brown, about 5 to 6 minutes. Stir in garlic, ginger, chili, garam masala and tomato paste and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add the crushed tomatoes and sugar and allow the mixture to come to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to medium low, cover, and allow to simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once reduced, stir in the cream and return to a simmer. Remove pan from heat and cover to keep warm.

While the sauce is reducing and simmering, cook the chicken. Grill the chicken on an outdoor grill, or cook under the broiler heat setting in the oven. To broil the chicken, adjust an oven rack to the upper-middle position and preheat in oven to the high broiler setting. Set a fine wire rack above a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Using tongs, dip the chilled chicken into the yogurt mixture so that the chicken is coated with a thick layer of yogurt and lay on the prepared baking sheet. Discard extra yogurt mixture, if any.

Broil the chicken until the exterior is lightly charred in spots and the chicken registers 160 degrees, about 10 to 15 minutes, making sure to flip the chicken half way through its cooking time. Once fully cooked, allow the chicken to rest for 5 minutes. Cut the chicken up in to 1-inch chunks and stir into the warm sauce. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Serve over rice pilaf (recipe below), and garnish with cilantro.

Basmati Rice Pilaf
Serves 6 to 8

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, diced
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 1/2 cups basmati rice, rinsed
3 3/4 cups water

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat until shimmering. Add onion and 1 teaspoon of kosher salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, about 5 to 6 minutes. Stir in rice and cook, stirring often, until the edges of the rice begin to turn translucent, about 2 minutes.

Stir in the water and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low, cover, and continue to simmer until the water is absorbed and the rice is tender, about 20 minutes. Fluff rice with a fork, season with salt and pepper to taste, and serve.

Written by Amy

May 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks fabulous, and actually I’m cooking Indian this week, too — veggie pekoras. My daughter will be home for college in a week or two, and this is her favorite thing to order in Indian restaurants, so I will make it for her. I bought some garam masala at the spice stand at our farmer’s market this morning, so I’m all set.

    lightfoot21

    May 20, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    • oh I love vegetable pekoras — I hope you do a blog post about them! I’d love to broaden my home-cooked Indian food horizons and try those out.

      Amy

      May 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  2. I’m the most indecisive person I know. I always use the point-and-hope-for-the-best method when I’m out to eat. I also always have orderer’s remorse, envying the dishes my friends ordered. Indian is actually the one place I go knowing what I’m going to get – chicken tikka masala and bangain bartha (roasted eggplants with a healthy amount of oil). I’ve made tikka masala a couple of times at home, but not as often as I should. I will definitely be trying out this recipe, perhaps it can substitute for my weekly staple of Chicken Tagine with Apricots that I’ve been making non-stop since I found it on your blog – SO GOOD.

    talley

    May 20, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    • Ah still so pleased you love that chicken tagine recipe! I made it twice in one week a while back and since then I haven’t been crazy about that dish. But I think enough time has passed for me to obsess over it again, haha. And I wish I met you, Talley! I think I’d give you a run for your money in terms of being the most indecisive person you know. :)

      Amy

      May 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  3. I feel similar about Indian food, I love it but I’m always worried when I cook it that I’m going to put together some bizarre combination of spices that doesn’t really work because I don’t really understand the basics. That being said, you can’t go wrong with a chicken tikka masala!

    Kathryn

    May 21, 2012 at 12:45 am

  4. You may not be an expert on Indian cooking but you turn out some pretty delicious looking dishes! So funny that this was invented in London as a ‘classic Indian dish’ :-)

    thelittleloaf

    May 21, 2012 at 4:32 am

  5. I’ve made this recipe from Cook’s several times. Always a winner – a bullet proof recipe. looks good Amy!

    fritz

    May 21, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    • Thanks, Fritz! This recipe is definitely a keeper — I hope I have the sense to remember how good it was and remind myself to make it more often.

      Amy

      May 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  6. I love your description of picking food at an Indian food restaurant.. it’s so true! And this looks delicious… I’ll have to go out for Indian food sometime soon. Miss you!

    Abbey Davies

    May 21, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  7. I’ve been trying to learn more about Indian food too. We just tried a place here in Boston not too long ago and it was great! Haven’t made too much of it at home yet. And I agree, even though you may not be an expert, all your meals look great.

    greenthyme

    May 22, 2012 at 3:36 am

  8. Hi Amy! I so can’t wait to explore your old recipes, especially the ones that Em recommended. My family loves Indian food and we have our favorite indian restaurant that we go to at least 3 to 4 times a month. I love all the spices in Indian food and the flavors are simply amazing. I have never cooked iIndian cuisine before as I had been a bit nervous. I am so going to make this dish and I know my kids and hubby would love it.

    I especially love recipes that have leftovers as I am always looking to save time in the kitchen when the kid’s sports activities ramp up. I also am a believer that some dishes taste better the next day as the flavors have a chance to mesh together.

    So delish and I can’t wait to explore more recipes!

    Cheers!

    Jackie

    jackieofmarinmamacooks

    May 22, 2012 at 8:45 am

    • Thanks for commenting, Jackie! Yeah, I would definitely start out with this dish if you haven’t cooked it at home before. So satisfying and delicious without too much effort. Let me know how you like it (and its leftovers :) if you end up making it!

      Amy

      May 22, 2012 at 11:08 am

  9. Hi Love! SO I actually read this recipe the first day you posted it – but read on my I phone and totally forgot to comment until now. LOuis LOVES Indian food so I must remember to make this very soon. Its doubly ideal because I do quite like Indian flavours but HATE how oily a lot of the stuff you get in Indian restaurants is (I think that may be why Louis likes it… :) ). Anyways – cooking more Indian at home seems like the obvious solution and I totally get how leftovers would be even better… I find that even with the takeaway (not that I ever get takeaway of course…). Mega bookmarked!

    Em (Wine and Butter)

    May 23, 2012 at 7:25 am

  10. Ah, I think I could eat this almost every day! Authentic without being fussy. Thank you for the article. Georgina @ http://caramelizelife.com/

    methowmama

    May 23, 2012 at 10:43 am

  11. I don’t generally prepare meat at home (apart from the occasional slice or two of bacon), but this chicken sounds amazing. I really like the idea of yogurt-slathered and grilled chicken! I’m at least going to have to order some the next time I’m at an Indian restaurant. (I still order like a vegetarian when I eat Indian, generally–I don’t know nearly enough about the meaty side of things.)

    Katie

    May 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

  12. This looks ridiculously good! I can never get my Indian dish attempts to taste like the real thing, but this looks like a very close match. Can’t wait to try it!

    onceuponarecipe

    May 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

  13. This one will be my next challege, thanks for the recipe! Your dish looks stunning! X

    Pis Dương

    May 30, 2012 at 7:59 am

    • Thank you so much! Let me know how it goes. :)

      Amy

      May 30, 2012 at 8:03 am

  14. recipe bookmarked! it looks so delicious and i totally agree with you on the indian restaurant thing or any restaurant in that case! thanks for the recipe

    dixya

    June 7, 2012 at 10:44 am

  15. Making this for dinner tonight!!!!

    Abbey Davies (@abbeyasaayi)

    December 21, 2012 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers