the moveable feasts

Tostadas de Tinga and a Jicama-Cabbage Slaw

with 42 comments

with queso fresco, avocado, cilantro, lime

In my post for Father’s Day last year, I mentioned that my Dad has a specific set of tastes. I’d sum it up as Southern Californian Mexican meets 50′s child nostalgia meets snack-hungry sweet tooth. He loves when I’m around the house because there’s always some sort of treat he can have after dinner, and he asserts that pineapple upside-down cake is an under-rated dessert that is a sad example of lost food trends getting the best of people’s palates. Most food “bores” him, but he’s made a meal out of cereal or cheese and crackers more than anyone I know. Even though he’s not very picky, it’s hard to truly impress him with food.

before cooking

We don’t really make a big deal out of things like Mother’s or Father’s Day around my house (sorry Mom, Dad), but I liked the excuse this past Sunday to try and cater to my Dad’s tastes for dinner. This year, it meant Mexican food in the form of spicy shredded pork tostadas, a spicy jicama-cabbage slaw on the side, and a white chocolate banana cream pie for dessert.

Sound awesome? It was.

shredded up pan fry half of it

(Well, besides the dessert part. Which is odd, because usually baking as opposed to cooking is the thing I can always rely on—if I’m making something sweet, I usually have faith that it’ll turn out well. But tell that to the pile of cornstarchy-tough-crust-overly-sweet mush of a pie sitting in the fridge uneaten at the moment. It seems like I’m making a pattern of Father’s Day, seeing as last year I served a good dinner with a mushy, falling-apart pineapple upside-down cake. Anyway.)

This tinga doesn’t taste like the regular carnitas you get at the taco truck, but I like that. They’re a little sweet, from the tomato sauce and onions, pretty spicy from the chili in adobo, and completely flavorful, complex, and delicious. And what’s more, they were pretty straightforward and easy to make: you simply boil the chopped and trimmed pork in some water and aromatics until the pieces are tender, saute half of that pork with onions and  to get it crispy and browned, and finally combine it all back together with reserved stock and tomato sauce until it bubbles and reduces down.

making the tostada part
yumm

I served them on 6-inch corn tortillas that I fried in oil to make tostadas out of them, but next time I’d fry up 4-inch tortillas—6-inches left a little too much room for the juicy tinga to fall all over our chins when we were eating it. Better yet, I’d go ahead and recommend buying the tortillas already tostada-fied from the store actually. Or! Do like I did, and serve some of the tinga on soft just-warmed corn tortillas. Which, you know, obviously takes away the whole “tostada” part of this dish, but whatever. Whatever you do, make sure you serve it with some crumbled queso fresco, some cilantro, and a good squeeze of lime. That part is definitely necessary.

such a good slaw

Before I send you off with the recipe, I have to  comment on the slaw that we ate the tostadas with. To cut to the chase, it’s really, really good. I think I loved it more than anyone else at the table, but maybe that’s also probably because I saw how much oil I used to fry up the tostadas and so I was naturally counter-balancing that with some craving for the tangy, spicy, crunchy and always-healthy cabbage and jicama. The dressing, a spicy-sweet mixture with lots of lime juice and jalapeno, was what probably made the slaw for me—I swear, you could serve that dressing on anything.

Oh, and one last thing about dessert: Though I stand by everything I stated earlier about how that banana cream pie went, my Dad still ate a good serving of it by scooping it out and eating it on graham crackers. Because as he says often when he sees a culinary mishap of mine, “it still has all the right ingredients.” And even though I think that all the “right” ingredients are very capable of producing something very “wrong” indeed, I can’t help but appreciate that my Dad’s uncommon food tastes sometimes cause my family to gather around some really great meals. Whether it’s these tostadas, or a pile of cheese and crackers.

with a soft shell
top

One Year Ago: Orange, Currant and Coconut GranolaChicken Poblano and Cornbread, and Rhubarb Raspberry Crostata

Tostadas de Tinga (Spicy Shredded Pork Tostadas)
Adapted slightly from America’s Test Kitchen Menu Cookbook
Serves 6 to 8

As mentioned above, I wouldn’t feel the slightest bit guilty in buying tostadas already deep-fried from the grocery store. A good brand is Mission, or so I’ve heard. 

3 to 4 pounds boneless pork boston butt roast
2 large onions, quartered
4 garlic cloves, smashed
6 sprigs fresh thyme
kosher salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 onions, diced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons chipotle chili in adobo, minced
2 (14.5 ounce) cans tomato sauce
2 bay leaves

4-inch corn tortillas
1 to 2 cups vegetable oil
salt

queso fresco, crumbled
cilantro, roughly chopped
diced avocado
lime wedges

To prepare the shredded pork, pull apart the pork at the seams and trim the pieces of its fat. It may be impossible to get all of the fat trimmed off, but do the best you can; any fat that’s leftover will translate to chewy pockets of greasy fat when it’s all finished. Cut the pork into rough 1-inch pieces, and combine with the quartered onions, smashed garlic, thyme, 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, and 8 to 9 cups of water in a large dutch oven. Bring the water to a simmer over medium-high heat and skim off any grayish foam that rises to the surface. Once the water is steadily simmering, reduce the heat to medium-low, partially cover, and cook until the pork is tender and falls apart when pierced with a fork, about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours.

While the pork is cooking, make the tostadas. In an 8-inch skillet, heat a little more than a cup’s worth of vegetable oil until its hot enough so that a sprinkle of flour sizzles when dropped in. Working with one at a time, fry each tortilla for about 30 seconds, or until its crispy throughout and slightly golden. While the tortilla fries, it helps to hold it submerged under the oil with a metal potato masher. Once each tortilla is done, remove from the oil, place on several layers of paper towels to cool, and sprinkle with salt. The tostadas can be kept at room temperature for up to a day.

Once the pork is completely tender, remove and reserve 2 cups of the cooking liquid, then drain the pork and discard the onions, garlic and thyme. Returning the pork to the pot by itself, mash with a potato masher until very roughly shredded. Be sure to not shred it too much—it will continue to break down before being served.

In a 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat, heat the two tablespoons of olive oil until shimmering. Add the diced onions and dried oregano until the onions are softened, 5 to 7 minutes. Add half of the shredded pork and cook with the softened onions, stirring often, until the pork gets browned and a bit crispy. Stir in the minced garlic and minced chili until it all becomes fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Return the pork mixture back to the dutch oven pot with the other half of the shredded pork. Use some of the reserved 2 cups of pork cooking liquid, about 1/2 cup, to deglaze the browned pork left in the skillet by scraping up any browned parts. Once completely deglazed, add this liquid to the dutch oven with the pork, along with the remaining reserved cooking liquid, tomato sauce, and bay leaves. Bring mixture to a simmer and cook until the mixture is reduced until almost no liquid remains. Discard bay leaves, and season with salt to taste.

To serve, spoon the shredded pork tinga onto the center of each tostada and garnish with queso fresco, cilantro, lime juice, and avocado.

Jicama-Cabbage Slaw
Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Menu Cookbook
Serves 6

However you slice, shred and cut the red cabbage, carrots and jicama, just try and keep them within the same size range and small enough so that the pieces can actually fit in your mouth.

1/2 cup lime juice, from about 4 limes
1/4 cup sugar
1 jalapeno chili, stemmed, seeds removed, and minced
1 small garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 head red cabbage (1 pound), core removed and sliced thin
3 carrots, peeled and shredded
1 pound jicama, peeled and sliced thin
1/2 cup minced cilantro

In a small bowl, whisk lime juice, sugar, jalapeno, garlic, cumin and a 1/2 teaspoon salt. Whisking constantly, drizzle in the oil in a small stream.

In a large bowl, combine the shredded and sliced cabbage, carrots, jicama and cilantro. Drizzle the dressing over the cabbage mixture and toss it all to coat. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve, at least 30 minutes and up to 1 day. Season and taste for salt and pepper before serving.

Written by Amy

June 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm

42 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These look delicious, but I hardly eat any meat these days. Maybe I have to come up with a vegetarian version? Or maybe that would be really really wrong, I don’t know.

    Lena

    June 20, 2012 at 11:18 pm

  2. Haha what a great description of your dad’s palette! I’m loving those tortillas. I’ve never made them like that before! They look awesome and the pictures are great Amy! Chipotle chiles are great, aren’t they? I love the idea of serving slaw with meals like this. You’re right, something light and crunchy to balance out something heavy.

    greenthyme

    June 21, 2012 at 1:52 am

    • Thanks, Stephanie! And yeah, the slaw was definitely a (delicious) must. It’s what I give credit for my ability to eat three of those tostadas—it cut through the heaviness to let me eat more, haha.

      Amy

      June 21, 2012 at 10:48 am

  3. Amy, these look really, really great–very nice photos. I don’t often prepare meat at home, but I’ll have to keep this in mind for when my parents visit later this summer. Your spread, pie on graham crackers and all, sounds like it would make for a fun family meal.

    This might be a silly question but: how on earth are you supposed to eat a tostada? Are you just supposed to pick up the tortilla and bite in? I ordered one yesterday piled high with mushrooms and pea shoots and awkwardly used a combination of fingers and a fork and knife. I’m pretty sure I looked really silly trying to eat it.

    Katie

    June 21, 2012 at 5:17 am

    • Haha, I think my whole family looked silly eating the tostadas. All the juices were running down my hand, and my brother tried folding his in half and all the filling fell out. Looks pretty in the picture, but when it comes to eating it… not so photogenic. I think I’d go just as you did with a combination of fingers, fork and knife. I find myself eating the leftover shredded pork in soft tacos because I’m too lazy to go through the effort. Oh well, I think they’re tasty no matter how messy they are.

      Amy

      June 21, 2012 at 10:46 am

  4. That slaw looks terrific- I so often need something crisp to go with slow cooked meats. Thank you!

    torihaschka

    June 21, 2012 at 7:53 am

  5. The meat in that soft taco is calling to me…! I have had so many similar mishaps with custard based pies, I have officially given up! I love the image of dad spreading the pie on crackers!

  6. Damn… Yes! to everything you did with this dish.

    the amused bouche blog

    June 21, 2012 at 9:59 am

  7. YUM I want to make this for dinner tonight! Love your voice in the post, great pictures as well!

    Abbey Asaayi Davies

    June 21, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    • Ah thanks Abbey. PS remember Leo with jicama? Me: “Do you like jicama?” Leo: “I don’t know, I’ve never had that” … “Ohhh did you mean jícama?” haha

      Amy

      June 21, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  8. That’s the thing about dads, they always know how to make us feel better for our mishaps. ;)
    What a fantastic Father’s Day (or any day) meal!

    onceuponarecipe

    June 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

  9. i’m sorry about the pie. :( I mean I’m sorry it was not good enough to leave us the recipe.. I’m sure you’ll improve it and post it some day. [hint].

    air2h2o

    June 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  10. Woouuwwv! This recipe is delicious! I want to make this recipe and you are always taking great picture. :)

    Sanal Günlüğüm

    June 22, 2012 at 9:39 am

  11. These look absolutely delicious! And never mind about the pie – after something so scrumptious everyone was probably too full for pudding anyway :-)

    thelittleloaf

    June 23, 2012 at 3:24 am

  12. Haha, your dad reminds me so much of my fiance, particularly the ‘it still has all the right ingredients’ bit. Now your tostadas are definitely something he’d feast on. (He’s a socal boy as well)

    Linda

    June 25, 2012 at 7:14 am

  13. YUM! I have been obsessed with carnitas since being here – and am a bit spoilt because there is so much GREAT quality mexican food (that actually uses really good ingredients!) available around here cheaply. BUT – before I move back to London – I sure need to start making my own too! Such a cute story as well.

    Em (Wine and Butter)

    June 26, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  14. That looks pretty delicious

    dominikanita

    July 17, 2012 at 1:09 am

  15. I love that recipe. It looks delicious!

    I have to try it .

    Thank u for sharing with us.

    Nahed Omer

    July 17, 2012 at 3:53 am

  16. This looks yum.

    APOML

    July 17, 2012 at 4:32 am

  17. My mouth is watering as we speak. Looks amazing

    thesociallubricant

    July 17, 2012 at 5:05 am

  18. This looks delicious.I will try to make this..
    Thanks

    ranu802

    July 17, 2012 at 6:11 am

  19. This looks delicious.I will try to make this..

    Thanks

    ranu802

    July 17, 2012 at 6:12 am

  20. Yumm! Cannot wait to try this.

    Carlie Chew

    July 17, 2012 at 9:04 am

  21. Great pictures! These look delicious!

    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

    ChangeTheWorld

    July 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

  22. wooww!! i am going to try this!! definitely!! it looks so delicious!! :-D

    abichica

    July 17, 2012 at 10:48 am

  23. Yum! Those look amazing!

    Jessica

    July 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  24. My wife is Tejana and makes great Tex-Mex. This is a must try recipe. Thank you, for sharing. :)

    Jason Ministries

    July 17, 2012 at 1:17 pm

  25. These look soooo good!!

    Mari

    July 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  26. What gorgeous, tasty colours.

    Valerie {all mussed up}

    July 17, 2012 at 2:43 pm

  27. This looks like a great recipe, nice for a get together with family or friends too!

  28. This makes me hungry! I’m loving the cabbage / jicama slaw and can’t wait to make it.

    Veena

    July 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

  29. I’ve never seen jicama in Australia, but I think I could do a fair replica of this. I do love a little pulled pig. Thank your dad for me- for inspiring you!

  30. Amazing!! This looks great! :)

    youcanthavemyrealnumber

    July 18, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  31. this looks so good! i’ll have to try it out!

    margueriteeats

    July 21, 2012 at 7:36 am

  32. Looks great!

    glorytrained

    July 22, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  33. So yummo!

    caseymk

    July 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  34. I think I’m the first to actually review this recipe…It not only looks delicious, IT IS DELICIOUS. I was reluctant to try this considering that there weren’t any posts about how it tasted, but I did it anyway and I’m glad! My 15 year old brother is very picky about my cooking and about trying new food, but he loved it and ate 6 of the 4 inch tostadas in one sitting. We all enjoyed it. I was unsure about using 2 14.5 oz cans of tomato sauce (they don’t have cans that large in my market) so I used one 14.5 oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes and about 4-5 tbs. tomato sauce (or paste, I pulled it from my freezer) and it was great. Thanks again.

    Monique

    November 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm

  35. Oh, and the slaw is a must. It was unanimous that they tostadas with the slaw were preferred.

    Monique

    November 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm

  36. instead of deep frying (way too messy!), I spray the tortillas with oil then bake them — they come out nice and crispy, not so oily, and much less messy! you can even shape the tortillas into cup by either draping over a cup or pressing into large muffin cups — then you can pile up more vegetables underneath…

    michele

    February 7, 2014 at 1:48 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers