the moveable feasts

Kim Boyce’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

with 18 comments

IMG_4162

This post is going to have a few opening caveats.

Firstly, I realize that baking up a batch of chocolate chip cookies goes against the somewhat honest intentions I mentioned earlier about using fresh summer produce and keeping away from the oven. But, at least for this moment, that is neither here nor there. Moving on.

big dough balls, frozen

Secondly, I hope you recognize these cookies. They’re from Kim Boyce, and they’ve been endlessly featured on the internet, most notably through my own experience here, here, here, and here. I’m happy to continue that cycle, because as Talley said, this is the type of recipe you have to love and then pass on.

To be honest with you, I’m not one for recipes-made-internet-sensations, and especially when that recipe is for chocolate chip cookies. (That’s a conversation for another post, but let’s just say chocolate chip cookies usually are not for me. Too chocoaltely, too crunchy, too cliche.) But when I had a hankering to have some treats lying around the house last week, I finally decided to give this recipe a try. Because, you know, it’s not like I hadn’t gotten constant reminders from the blog world that I should do just that.

stacked up

I’m glad I did, and I’m now happy to say that this recipe is what they call a “keeper.” I’ve only ever found one other homemade chocolate chip cookie recipe that I’ve approved of (once again, that’s a conversation for another day), and this one will always be for those days when I want thick, chewy, darker and deeper-flavored chocolate chip cookie to dip in a glass of cold milk. Which, in case anyone is keeping a record, would be just about every other day if I didn’t have a sense of will power. But, because I have portioned-out scoops of the dough in a ziploc-bag in the freezer, I can pretty much have fresh-baked cookies whenever I’d like and do just that anyway.

I will make a quick note that don’t read the “whole wheat” in the title and immediately associate that with “healthy.” These cookies are made like all good ones are: with a good dose of butter, and a good amount of sugar. Yes, the complete use of whole wheat flour here does boost the nutritional profile of the cookies, but I think most of all I like the flavor and texture it brings to the final cookie.

So, if you’ve seen this recipe lingering persistently around the internet, and have hesitated to try it out, this is your reminder! If by some rare and odd chance you haven’t come across this recipe before, here is your first boost of encouragement to get in on this one trend. And if you’ve made them (and consequently loved them, I’m guessing), then congratulate me! I’ve joined the Kim Boyce Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookie fan club, and I’m proud of it.

whole wheat chocolate chip cookies

One Year Ago: Blueberry Crumble Pie

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted slightly from Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain
Makes about 18 to 20 big cookies

I changed the process of how these cookies are made, just slightly. Taking a hint from Molly, I decided to go the route of freezing the cookie dough in pre-formed balls first before baking. Because of that, I creamed the butter at room temperature, rather than chilled, since the dough would be chilled first before baking anyway (room tempurature butter is a lot, a lot easier to cream than cold butter). Also, I used chocolate chips, but I really want to try making them with chocolate shards, cut straight from a hunk of chocolate. Go ahead and use what you like, or have on hand. Also! Importantly, let these cookies cool all the way. That’s when the soft and chewy develop.

3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 sticks (16 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature or slightly softened
1 cup lightly packed dark brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
8 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped into 1/4- and 1/2-inch pieces, or chips (see note)

Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together until blended and fluffy, about 1 minute. Add eggs one at a time, beating well and scraping the side of the bowl after each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture, and blend on a low speed until the flour is just incorporated. Do not overmix. Add the chocolate shards or chips, and blend on low speed until mixed, about 15 seconds.

Scoop mounds of the dough roughly 3 tablespoons in size onto a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet, and place in the freezer to chill completely, at least one hour. Once chilled, you can store the portioned-out scoops in a ziploc bag in the freezer and bake off as many as you’d like, whenever you want.

Once ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place frozen portions of the dough on the sheet, making sure to leave about 3 inches between each cookie. Bake cookies for 17 to 18 minutes, until the cookies are browned along the edges but still look a little under-cooked and gooey in the middle. Let cookies cool on the baking sheet, until completely cool. Trust me, it’s worth it to wait!

Written by Amy

July 31, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Posted in Cookies and Bars

Tagged with , ,

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooh these cookies look fabulous. And you can never have too many baked goods so I’m really glad you posted them :-)

    thelittleloaf

    August 1, 2012 at 12:25 am

  2. I just snagged a copy of Good to the Grain and boy do I feel like I need to start experimenting! Sand cookies made with kamut flour! And poppy seed wafers! There are also so many flours I haven’t tried before. I’ve seen these cookies everywhere and I loved Molly’s post about them. Having the capability to bake off a few cookies whenever you feel like seems really smart! You’re right about not thinking these are super healthy. I’ve tried and failed many times to make cookies ‘healthier’ but have come to find out, you really need butter…and sugar….and let’s just leave it at that. I’ve made some very dry cookies without those two key components! haha….I will have to give these a try. You are my reminder! Thank you! I want to be part of the club too!

    greenthyme

    August 1, 2012 at 11:34 am

    • Oh I hope you pass on a review of some of the recipes on your blog! I’ve only ever tried one other recipe from that book (figgy buckwheat scones, featured on 101cookbooks), and that was a bit of a disaster for me, haha. Anyway, get to these cookies first! ;)

      Amy

      August 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  3. Love the use of whole wheat flour. And the cookies look so thick and chewy – yum! I like trying new chocolate chip cookie recipes in my quest for the “perfect” chocolate chip cookie – can’t wait to give these a shot!

    onceuponarecipe

    August 1, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  4. WOAH. you have “one year ago” links. crazy.

    also really want these bitte bitte bitte

    Lindsey

    August 1, 2012 at 4:45 pm

  5. These look so yummy! Really, as common as chocolate chip cookies are, I think it’s actually really hard to find a perfect recipe for them. These look promising and I think I’ll need to try them!

    Erin

    August 2, 2012 at 3:57 am

  6. I love that you used whole wheat flour. . these look delicious! I am definitely going to try this recipe, thank you!

    hipfoodiemom

    August 2, 2012 at 6:07 am

  7. Look, people who haven’t yet made these magical cookies yet! Thank goodness you posted the recipe again! Phew! I LOVE THESE COOKIES, they are my happy place. It’s a rare cookie baking day when I don’t make these cookies. They’ve traveled with me everywhere, and are always my hostess gift. People love them, they are loveable. And I’m so glad you decided to spread the love!

    talley

    August 2, 2012 at 11:47 am

    • Yes, and thank you for spreading the love to me in the first place!

      Amy

      August 2, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  8. I looooove those finding the perfect chocolate chip cookie experiments (im a BIG chocolate chip cookie fan, in case you didn’t know…). I also think you should definitely bring home some of that free ice cream (most probably vanilla, although caramel would also work…). You should then sandwich it between two of these cookies and call it an ‘I deserve a special dessert day’.

    Em (Wine and Butter)

    August 2, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    • !! Em! I have totally been a ice-cream eating monster lately, but how could that idea pass by me!? Most definitely doing that with the last couple cookie dough balls I have left to bake. And give these a try next time you’re in the mood to experiment on finding the perfect chocolate chip cookie. These might be it!

      Amy

      August 2, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  9. These look great! I’ll have to try them – Thanks!
    By the way, have you tried Thomas Keller’s chocolate chip cookies? They’re my favorite chocolate chip cookies so far, and I’ve tried countless recipes. They’re nicely crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I cut each sugar down, and use all semi-sweet chocolate.

    http://www.foodgal.com/2009/06/tantalizing-preview-ad-hoc-chocolate-chip-cookie-recipe-by-thomas-keller/

    Meryl

    August 2, 2012 at 2:43 pm

  10. They look absolutely delicious! This is a recipe I have to try.

    Jenny

    August 18, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  11. Hi Amy!

    I know this comment is rather late but I was wondering if you could help me out? I was planning to make these cookies but I’m just a tad bit short of whole wheat flour! Probably about slightly less than 1/2 cup? Do you think I should do without that flour or sub it with AP?

    Thanks! :) Fabulous blog by the way!

    Natalie

    June 24, 2013 at 3:56 am

    • Hey Natalie! I would just stage whole wheat flour for regular ap flour. Hope they turn out well! Enjoy :)

      Amy

      June 24, 2013 at 7:19 am

      • Whoops I’m writing from my iphone. I meant *sub not stage!

        Amy

        June 24, 2013 at 7:21 am

      • Made them and they turned out fabulous!! Best cookies ever! Thanks so much again and have a great weekend! :)

        Natalie

        June 29, 2013 at 7:41 am

  12. […] that her two favorite chocolate chip cookie recipes happen to be identical to mine (this one and this one, by the way), I knew I should trust her […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 525 other followers