the moveable feasts

Pan-Fried Potato, Tabbouleh, and Hummus Pita Wrap

with 12 comments

finally the potatoes

So I didn’t have completely honest motives when I posted about the greatness of tabbouleh last week. Yes, I loved eating it by the spoonfuls, and I loved it even more piled on top of hummus. Everything I said about its bright, tart, herbal flavors was completely true. But the thing is, I had an agenda when I made it. Yes, that tabbouleh was destined to be not only piled on top of hummus, but also to have pan-fried potatoes piled on top of it, and have that all be wrapped up in a pita. Sound a little over-the-top? No, not at all.

pan fried, spiced potatoes

(At the risk of sounding redundant), I’m going to have to credit this creation to that small Lebanese restaurant in Salem, Oregon, where I go to college. The owner, a man who was born in Lebanon to a Greek mother and Lebanese father, recommended it. It had the thick, tahini-heavy hummus (it was his hummus, remember, that first turned me on that hummus could be that good), and that distinctive and sharp tabbouleh, with the spiced, creamy potatoes. All squished into a pita wrap, it made quite the fine meal. This, my friends, is why I trust other people’s recommendations more than my own impulses.

spread the hummus

Anyway, the pita he served it in was big, warm, and thin—unlike the ones I ended up finding and using in my recreated at-home version. But, sometimes I don’t think it’s necessary to try and create an exact copy of a good food experience. Sometimes changes aren’t necessarily better or worse, just a new experience. I’m going to go ahead and pass on this message to you, if you so choose to make a version of this wrap (please do). Pan-fry the potatoes in your own spice mix; add different flavorings into the hummus; make your own pita bread! You get the picture.

then tabbouleh

One final note about all the parts of this wrap: it may seem a little overwhelming to make it all at once. And, it kind of is. But make a big batch of hummus to snack on, and save some leftovers for this. Same goes for the tabbouleh. If you have all of the components made ahead of time, the actually assembly gets whittled down into just a few minutes of cooking. I’d like to think a lot of great meals are made when the leftovers of other meals get combined to make new flavors. With the flavors of this wrap, I’d even like to think that these leftovers were even better than their original, fresh counterparts.

delicious

One Year Ago: Key Lime Pie (and yes, to this for still being my favorite summer dessert)

Fried Potato, Hummus, and Tabbouleh Pita Wrap
Inspired by Alsham Mediteranean Restaurant
Makes 4 wraps

As hinted above, it helps to get the largest-diameter pita wraps you can find. The more to wrap up in it! Also, the quantity of the spice mix called for may not need be used completely in flavoring the potatoes. Use only as much as fits your seasoning preferences.

4 soft, large pita breads

1 heaping teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
4 medium yukon gold potatoes, quartered and cut into 1/4-inch slices

1 cup hummus

1 cup tabbouleh

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place the pita bread directly on the oven racks, and let sit in the warming oven until soft, flexible, warm, and delicious-smelling, about 7-10 minutes. Set aside.

Meanwhile, combine the salt, black pepper, paprika, thyme, and cayenne pepper in a small bowl. Heat a few good glugs of the olive oil in a skillet, until shimmering. Drop in the potato slices, making sure to arrange them in a single layer as best as you can do. (If your skillet is too small, or if you have too many potato slices, it’s probably better to just play it safe and cook the potatoes in two batches.) Sprinkle the spice mix over the potatoes, until evenly covering all the slices. You may not use all the spice mix! After a good two or three minutes, when the first layer of the potatoes is getting deeply golden and brown, flip the potatoes. Pan fry the other side of the potatoes for another two or so minutes until browned all around. ¬†Remove from heat; set aside.

To assemble the wraps, spread about 3 or 4 tablespoons of the hummus evenly over the middle third of one of the warmed pitas. Layer about a quarter cup of the tabbouleh over the hummus. Finally, top that with about a quarter-cup’s worth or so of those warm, pan-fried potatoes. Wrap it up best you can, without everything falling out of it. Enjoy.

Written by Amy

August 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG, this looks soooooo good. I should not be online right now b/c this is making me HUNGRY! looks amazing! thanks for sharing!

    hipfoodiemom

    August 4, 2012 at 10:15 pm

  2. I never would have thought of this combination but it looks like my favorite comfort food! I love the way you cook and I am so enjoying your blog.

    emmycooks

    August 4, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  3. I absolutely love the combination of different carbs – potatoes and rice, chickpeas and chapati bread etc. This looks and sounds so good – I can just taste the slightly oily potatoes against the creamy houmous, yum!

    thelittleloaf

    August 5, 2012 at 3:32 am

  4. This is such a creative way to eat tabbouleh! Somehow I missed your last post, so I’ve been doing catch up this morning…also got sidetracked by the Key Lime Pie!

  5. This looks delicious, and like a really great lunch to bring to work. The Lebanese cookbook you mentioned in your hummus post, is it Lebanese Food and Cooking? I’d love to get into middle eastern cooking more

    Lena

    August 5, 2012 at 6:47 am

    • Yes, it is! I really like it. It’s a British-published book which gives me confidence that it’s more closely tied with actual Lebanese cuisine (or so I like to think), while still being written in English. The recipes and photos are so inspiring! Hope you get a chance to check it out. If you find any other great Middle Eastern cookbooks, let me know.

      Amy

      August 5, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  6. how’d you think of the spice mix for the potatoes?

    Lindsey

    August 5, 2012 at 11:44 am

    • I insisted on the paprika (what was on the original at the restaurant), and the rest was Waylon. He’s pretty good with potatoes.

      Amy

      August 5, 2012 at 3:36 pm

  7. I love everything about this. And I have already found the perfect pita bread at my local grocery store – huge, thin, fresh pita bread made daily. I have never made my own hummus, but these wraps are going to motivate me to try!

  8. Oooh Amy, this looks so good! Potatoes make it more of a meal. That’s my kind of lunch right there! :)

    greenthyme

    August 6, 2012 at 1:49 am

  9. This is exactly the kind of sandwich I want for lunch on a regular basis. :) That spicy fried potato is a great addition to the usual pita sandwich!

    Eileen

    August 6, 2012 at 10:17 am

  10. This looks like a delicious, substantial vegetarian lunch – I’m dying to try it!

    Jenny

    August 8, 2012 at 4:00 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers