the moveable feasts

Spiced Pumpkin Bread

with 13 comments

spiced, moist pumpkin bread

I know the actual dates of when a new season begins hardly reflects the actual mood or feeling of the weather outside (last Saturday, otherwise known as Autumnal Equinox, I’m looking at you). But, the leaves on the trees are changing outside, I’ve actually had to wear a light cotton coat on my walk to school each morning and, most importantly, I have a nasty little cold. At least in my world, Fall has arrived.

Now, I’m no hypochondriac and I hate going to the doctor. Yet any time there is any sort of auto-immune attack in my body, I wither and whine like there’s no tomorrow. Yes, I’m on one of those types of people, the kind that where you only see their real, true colors when they have a moment of weakness, no matter how arbitrary or small that weakness may be. All of a sudden, I’ve been drinking komucha—a drink I otherwise consider a “hippie drink” under any other circumstances—and I’ve been popping those little, tasty orange vitamin C pills as if they alone contain the key to my salvation. Also, in case you haven’t noticed already, I may have become somewhat melodramatic.

pumpkin bread

But, the combination of this slight sickness and the start of Fall has its perks. Such as the excuse to make and eat lovely spiced baked goods that come warm from the oven like this pumpkin bread. Truth be told, I actually made this pumpkin bread the night before I woke up with a sore throat and a runny nose—I know, I know, it’s as if this pumpkin loaf knew what was in store for me and planned its timing around that!

spiced pumpkin bread

No matter the fact that I’m the one that made it. If you’re a baker, you know that these baked things have a mind of their own. There’s a reason this one came out so moist, so pumpkin-y—it knew it had its duties laid out for it. Especially considering the fact that only one week before I made my first attempt at conquering pumpkin bread, and the results  fell short. This loaf you see here is the “just right” version of balancing pumpkin flavor, spice level, and overall size.

It is worth noting that this loaf should have risen more—the baking powder I used is old and as a result it rose barely at all. The proportions in this recipe are all right though, for a tall, spiced and damp (in the best way) loaf. Also, due to the fact that I ran out of all-purpose flour, I used almost half-and-half of all-purpose to whole wheat flour. I didn’t notice anything negative as a result, and it made me feel so virtuous that I decided it deserved a lovely little glaze to accent the top of the loaf. It’s a really simple glaze of powdered sugar and a tablespoon or two of water, and it adds a small detail that I think make both the aesthetics and tastes of the cake just that much better.

pumpkin bread

One Year Ago: Carrot-Apple-Nut Muffins and Spicy Squash Salad with Arugula, Lentils, and Goat Cheese

Spiced Pumpkin Bread
Adapted loosely from Martha Stewart
Makes one 9-inch loaf

As noted above, your loaf will come out taller than mine did in the picture– just make sure you use active, non-expired baking powder! Also, I really, really recommend eating slices of this loaf cold from the fridge. Even if it’s cold out. The dense and moist texture of the bread is enhanced by the coldness. Try it! 

butter, for greasing the pan

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, or a combination of all-purpose and whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup regular sugar
1 1/4 cup (about 330 grams or 11.5 ounces) pumpkin puree
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs

1 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon and salt. In a large bowl, whisk together sugars, pumpkin, oil, and eggs. Sprinkle the flour mixture over the wet mixture, and stir with a wooden spoon until just combined. Don’t overmix.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean with just a crumb or two attached, about 1 hour, plus or minus 5 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes; invert pan and transfer the loaf to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the glaze, if desired, combine the 1 cup powdered sugar with 1-2 tablespoons of water in a small bowl. Mix until combined. The mixture should be smooth, but thick. Add more powdered sugar or water to reach the consistency you like. Pour over the top of the cooled loaf and allow 15 minutes for the glaze to set.

Written by Amy

October 3, 2012 at 5:15 am

Posted in Breads

Tagged with , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This Pumpkin Bread looks perfect! Just beautiful! Can’t wait to try this recipe!

    hipfoodiemom

    October 3, 2012 at 5:54 am

  2. sorry to hear you are sick. I do my fair share of whimpering, but I also love being able to lie down with a book for an entire afternoon and not feel guilty about it. This pumpkin spice bread looks and sounds delicious. I’ve been flirting with gluten free baking so I might try this with brown rice flour and oat flour; I think the nutty flavors of the rice and oats will go well with the sweet and earthy flavor of the pumpkin. I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for sharing and feel better soon.

    talley

    October 3, 2012 at 7:18 am

    • Ohhh interesting. Let me know how that goes if you get around to making it! I keep buying special flours but am always too nervous to try them out.

      Amy

      October 3, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  3. You’ve hit a new high with these photos, I just love them. The texture of the bread shows up really beautifully. I love the shadows, I love the glaze, and I love the squat shape, too!

  4. That’s one good looking pumpkin bread. Feel better! I’m known to be slightly dramatic about these things too ;) And also, you should know, I am absolutely addicted to kombucha. It’s turning out to be quite the expensive habit…but I seriously can’t get enough of it.

    greenthyme

    October 3, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • Yeah it’s really growing on me. You’re right about it being expensive though! I like how they say on the label, “for best results, drink at least one a day.” umm… that’s a lot of money!

      Amy

      October 3, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      • Haha true. I wonder if you’d have the same results by eating some sauerkraut everyday-probably! Gingerade is my favorite.

        greenthyme

        October 11, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  5. Yum! I love the idea of icing on top…I made some pumpkin bread the other week and it had a kind of crumble on top, which was delicious, but doing an icing looks like a great way to go too. :)

    Erin

    October 4, 2012 at 3:52 am

  6. Mmmmn this looks delicious! And totally squidgy in a good way, who cares if it didn’t rise quite enough, I bet it tastes amazing. I love all the spices and squash around at the moment – my favourite thing about autumn :-)

    thelittleloaf

    October 4, 2012 at 4:45 am

  7. I think this might be the moistest, most delicious looking pumpkin bread I’ve ever seen. For reals. And that glaze? Totally worth using part whole wheat flour – I think I would have done that anyway. I do love Fall, for it’s delicious treats and many other things! Hope you feel better soon Amy!

    onceuponarecipe

    October 4, 2012 at 10:59 am

  8. Hooray for pumpkins and the start of fall! That looks like the stickiest, moistest pumpkin bread ever. :)

  9. Hah–I’ve been in denial about the change of seasons too. Up until a few days ago, it was still possible to think that it wasn’t quite fall. I’m still collecting tomatoes from the garden, but now I might have to do it in a wool coat!
    The pumpkin bread looks great–exactly what I’d want to eat for breakfast on this dreary morning. Makes me regret not picking up a pie pumpkin at the market yesterday!

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    Katie

    October 7, 2012 at 6:17 am

  10. I googled pumpkin bread and look what came up…. Going to make this tonight! I hope you, Jessie and Rachel are having fun!! <3

    Abbey Davies

    December 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers