the moveable feasts

Grapefruit (Citrus) Yogurt Cake

with 17 comments

grapefruit yogurt cake
grapefruit yogurt cake

I know this little quick-bread loaf of a thing doesn’t look like much, but it’s exactly what I’ve been wanting.

Most of Tuesday was an off day. It began with an early-morning appointment with a professor who basically crushed in 30 seconds all of the research and planning for my thesis I had accumulated over the past two months; worries about getting a job this semester to save up money, and thus widen the buffer between how long I can stay suspended in fantasy without a job, began to creep in; the fact that Waylon now lives 6,000 miles away from me has been slowly setting in—everything just started combining and combining. These are normal whiney things of the sort that everyone goes through every so often. Yet no matter how many days of those one has, or how common it is that people have such days, it never seems to lessen the blow, does it?

But, miraculously!, the bitterness of that morning was not destined to last all day. Thesis worries abated and were given new-found motivation from the generous help of my thesis adviser (she’s one of those people that is kind and comforting and inspiring and just the right amount of eccentric all in one—my favorite), the sun started shining, and “Forever Young” by Rod Stewart started playing on the radio. And before you laugh embarrassingly for me, just know that I’d never really listened to the song before, and hearing the nice-to-the-point-of-cheesy lyrics was just the sort of thing I was in the mood for. One lyric in particular, “may sunshine and happiness surround you when you’re far from home,” particularly resonated with me. When I reached home, instead of reaching for academia-things, I baked.

beat sugar and grapefruit zest together

I’m assuming, by the fact that you’re reading this in the first place (are you still reading this?), that many of you are acquainted with the soothing practice that is baking. Of how satisfying the instant gratification of it all can be, when you measure this and that, blend them together, and bake it all up to make something that’s quite a bit more than the sum of its parts. Even in my case, where I under-shot the time it’d take to bake this cake—I am both weary and paranoid of over-cooked, dry cakes—which led for the top to sink slightly in the middle, it was still something to behold (besides, I don’t mind a little bit of  squidgyness on the top of a loaf cake). There’s just something about the calm dreaminess that is baking.

I’m happy that this is what I decided to bake, as this cake is of the low-maintenance and intuitive sort, neither too sweet or densely rich (thank you, yogurt!), and the vibrancy of the grapefruit makes for a special-tasting cake. I know it may sound a little weird, to envision that bitter, tart flavor that is grapefruit locked in cake form, but it really does work. While it’s hard to distinguish the grapefruit flavor in the crumb—it tastes more generically citrus-lemony—the grapefruit-honey syrup poured on top of the cake once out of the oven makes for an unnoticeable grapefruit taste on the top. I really like it (along with the stickiness that the syrup contributes to the texture). A few friends stopped by for dinner last night, and after we finished eating we sat around the table munching on thick slices of this cake for dessert. Everyone liked it, a lot, so keep that in mind if you’re having doubts about grapefruit cake.

With that being said, I really liked this yogurt-based cake and I think it’d taste great with all types of citrus. If I were the kind of person that liked things like blueberries or raspberries in my baked goods, I’m sure that’d be good with a lemon-yogurt cake. It’s a simple, seamless cake to keep in mind next time a bad or especially chilly day strikes.

grapefruit (citrus) yogurt cake
a slice of citrus yogurt cake

Grapefruit Yogurt Cake
Adapted slightly from The Greystone Bakery Cookbook, via Joy the Baker

As I mentioned above, this cake would do well with any citrus flavors. I would just substitute 1 for 1 the amounts of grapefruit called for. 

butter, for greasing the pan
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
zest of one grapefruit (about 1 tablespoons)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 cup plain whole-milk, plain yogurt
1/3 cup vegetable oil
juice of one grapefruit (about 1/2 cup), divided
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-3 tablespoons honey

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and position a rack in the center of the oven. Butter a 9 x 5 loaf pan. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder and salt to combine. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the sugar and grapefruit zest on medium until fragrant and the zest is well dispersed, about 1 minute. (This releases the essential oils of the zest better, making a more flavorful cake.)

Add in the eggs, and beat until the mixture is thick and pale yellow, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the yogurt, vegetable oil, 1 tablespoon of the grapefruit juice (reserving the rest) and the vanilla extract. Beat to combine. Sprinkle in the flour mixture and, on a low speed, stir until all the ingredients are combined, making sure to not overbeat.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and smooth the top. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the top is goden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, with just some crumbs attached. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes.

While the cake is baking and cooling, make the syrup by combining the honey and grapefruit juice in a small saucepan. Over medium heat, bring the mixture to a simmer and let cook, stirring occasionally, until the syrup has reduced a little bit, about 10 minutes.

Pierce the cake all over (like, all over) with a skewer or a toothpick, letting it go about 1 to 2 inches deep. Pour the warm grapefruit syrup slowly and evenly over the cake. After letting that rest for a few minutes, run a knife along the edge of the pan and invert. Serve in thick slices. To store, I wrapped mine in plastic wrap and then aluminum foil–it got better and better as the days went on.

Written by Amy

January 24, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Posted in Cakes

Tagged with ,

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve always wanted to make a grapefruit cake. . I recently make a lemon bundt cake and loved it! Totally pinning this! :)

    hipfoodiemom

    January 24, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  2. This sounds perfectly lovely, Amy. I made a similar cake once with lemon and yogurt, and it was just the perfect thing to enjoy with tea. I am yearning for it (and your cake) now!
    PS. I couldn’t agree more about the calming nature of baking. It’s just what I want to do if I’m having an awful day. Alongside a glass of wine and some good music, of course. :)

    Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe

    January 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    • Yes, I saw how you rubbed the lemon zest into the sugar so I was definitely intrigued by that when I saw it on Joy’s website for this cake. Such a nice trick!

      Amy

      January 25, 2013 at 8:31 am

  3. I’m always up for a slice of citrus-yogurt cake. Meyer lemon is my go-to, but I’ll have to give grapefruit a try next time around.

    Worries tend to just snowball together on some days, don’t they? I’m sure that you’ll find your way through that thesis soon enough. Where is Waylon living these days?

    Katie

    January 24, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    • Do give grapefruit a try, I really liked it. Now it’s time for me to try it with meyer lemon…

      And Waylon’s going to school now in Beirut now! Very fun, but very far away for Oregon.

      Amy

      January 25, 2013 at 8:32 am

  4. I have never made a cake with grapefruit but I both love those lemon cakes with lots of juice poured over them after baking and grapefruits. I think I need this in my life soon.
    I use baking as a therapeutic practice, too. I especially like making bread when stressed, the kneading is so relaxing.
    And is Waylon back in Switzerland or does he continur his studies elsewhere?

    Lena

    January 24, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    • I think you need this in your life soon too. :) And yes! I should make bread soon, the kneading is very distracting and relaxing. And no, Waylon decided to go back to school in American University of Beirut, in Lebanon.

      Amy

      January 25, 2013 at 8:34 am

  5. I was NOTORIOUS for avoiding homework and baking. It just seemed like the right thing to do. I think it’s awesome that you’re acknowledging the things that are eating at you. It’s way better than bottling them up. It makes getting past them so much easier to tackle.

    This cake looks stellar!

    Michelle

    January 24, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    • Yeah haha towards the end of last year someone gave me a compliment for how I manage to cook and blog while in the midst of school/finals. I think I’m more likely to cook/bake/blog/find any source of procrastination during school than out of it! And thanks, Michelle.

      Amy

      January 25, 2013 at 8:37 am

  6. It really is amazing how baking can turn your day around. I’ve been seeing more and more grapefruit cake/cookie recipes lately, and I love it! This looks gorgeous.

    Little Kitchie

    January 25, 2013 at 4:56 am

  7. Citrus loaf cakes are heavenly and I’m sure this is no exception! Baking is my go-to de-stresser – I absolutely love being in the kitchen, it’s the best place to be!

    thelittleloaf

    January 25, 2013 at 5:55 am

  8. Aw, I’m glad to hear your day ended better than it began. But where is Waylon? I’m trying to think of where 6,000 miles away might be. Asia? The Middle East?

    I’d give this grapefruit cake a try. It sounds light and elegant. And I love quick, easy cakes like these. I agree, an order sets over the world when I’m baking. Like you know that as long as you get the measurements right, the end product will taste just fine.

    Linda

    January 25, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Lebanon! Barely the beginning of the Middle East (I rounded up the distance!)

      I’m surprised you’d bake with grapefruit! It is a nice yogurt cake that’d be good without citrus for that matter though, it’d still have a light and elegant-nature to it just being plain. And it is most definitely quick and easy.

      Amy

      January 25, 2013 at 11:45 am

      • Lebanon! Hope he’s not going to be there for too long.

        lindaxiao

        January 28, 2013 at 5:16 pm

  9. I have this cake in the oven right now! I can’t wait to try it. Only 32 minutes to go… :)

    Eileen

    January 26, 2013 at 6:24 pm

  10. I am such a huge fan of yogurt-y cakes. Every time I open the fridge and see a carton of yogurt sitting there I get this urge to bake it in something. :D This cake sounds super yummy! Glad that it helped turn your day around, too.

    Kocinera

    February 1, 2013 at 12:20 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers