the moveable feasts

Chewy Almond Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

with 27 comments

chewy almond butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

I realize that chewy almond butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies is a pretty long title for a cookie to have. Is it a little bit over the top? Maybe. But these ones surprised me because they live up to every bit of their attention-grabbing name, and maybe even more so. When I first read about them on Amanda’s blog, I thought they sounded good because, sure, I like chew and almond butter and oatmeal and chocolate and cookies—yes, especially that last part. I figured they would be a nice excuse to bake and eat some treats on a deadbeat weeknight since they hide so cleverly behind the facade of “healthy” by being made with all rolled oats, healthy fats from the almond butter, with a little boost of nutrients from the flax seed.

But let’s not kid ourselves. Cookies are cookies are cookies. It’s like when one of my roommates buys knock-off oreo “Who-Nus” that have “as much iron as a cup of spinach” or “as much calcium as a glass of milk.” Are those petty nutritional stats supposed to make a person feel better about eating a whole 24-pack of low-quality cookies? Because seriously, next time I’d personally rather just stick with the oreos and take a vitamin on the side.

These cookies do have some nutritionally redeeming qualities about them, but yeah, they’re still most definitely a treat. I baked them off earlier this week when I wanted some treats for my roommates and me that wouldn’t make me feel too guilty if I ate 4 of them in one night (it worked). And while the whole nutrition deal was a good excuse to make them, it was the chew and the flavor that surprised me and made me like them more than about 90% of all other cookies I’ve ever tried. These are really, really great. They are super chewy and a little soft, have some great texture from the rolled oats, and the cinnamon-almond-chocolate flavor combination is spot-on perfect. I’d make them for friends and company without any hesitations and without the need for the preface of something along the lines of “oh, these are kind of healthy-ish cookies…” These are some good cookies to keep in mind—whether you care about the whole healthy fats-whole-grain-flax-nutrients part or not. I wasn’t going to blog about these, but a friend urged me to after eating one or two or three of them. If you need any more convincing, Amanda’s post is really great.

the last three...

Anyway, I have no real segue into talking about this so I’ll just go right ahead: Last night for Valentine’s Day my best friend and I hosted something of a girls-night-dinner for all of our single friends (I was included in this group because basically when you are in a long distance relationship, for all-intensive purposes, you are single on national holidays). I made a big batch of risotto with parmesan and peas, served with these chicken meatballs piled on top. For dessert I made this chocolate-almond torte, and it made for a nice chocolatey-filled end to the evening. It’s like a mix between one giant meringue and a chocolate flourless torte. Flaky, dense, rich, but light. It was perfect. And! yesterday while making it, I realized that  it is completely fat-free. Like, there’s not even egg yolks in it. But, like the cookies, I would hate to emphasize some random health property as one of its defining features because it is too great of a torte to have “fat-free” be a blanket over its identity.

And, speaking of the Valentine’s Day that just passed, I hope you all had a lovely one. While I have no qualms with the holiday—I am neither repulsed by it nor attracted to it—I do like excuses to get together with friends and/or loved ones and cook and talk and laugh and all that nice stuff. I have to say though, if I read how someone is “blessed” to have a significant other or whoever in their life one more time on facebook, I am going to cry. So, to restate all that, I hope you had a very nice…unblessed Valentine’s Day. If not, there are always cookies.

IMG_5959

One Year Ago: Homemade Soft Pretzels & a Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce (these are awesome, so much so that I’ve made these about 6 times since that post a year ago—including only less than 2 weeks ago)

Chewy Almond Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted slightly from Amanda, who adapted it from Eat, Live, Run
Makes 15 cookies

You may substitute an egg for the flax-water mixture, just as you can substitute coconut oil for the butter to make it vegan. Also, you do not need to refrigerate this dough to firm it up before you bake it (awesome), but if you do, press down the chilled dough balls a little bit because they will hardly spread out at all if you don’t. 

1 tablespoon ground flax
1 3/4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup almond butter
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
heaping 1/2 cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a nonstick mat. In a small bowl, mix together the flax with 3 tablespoons of water; set aside for at least 5 minutes so that the flax can soak up the water and set up. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, almond butter, and the granulated and brown sugars on medium speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Add the vanilla and the flax-water mixture and combine to blend. Add in the dry oatmeal mixture, along with the chocolate chips, and mix until fully combined. The dough will be pretty moist but will hold together really well.

Roll golf-ball sized portions of the dough into balls and place on the prepared baking sheet, making sure to leave at least 2 inches between each cookie. Do not flatten them (unless you’re baking them after refrigerating them). Bake in the preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes, or until the cookies have gotten puffy and a little brown around the edges. They’ll look a little underdone on top, but they’ll continue cooking and setting up after you take them out. Let cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container or baggie.

Written by Amy

February 15, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Posted in Cookies and Bars

Tagged with ,

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So glad to hear you enjoyed the cookies, Amy! They are officially my new favorite cookie to make (and eat)! Sounds like a great way to spend Valentine’s Day – I lean more towards being repulsed by it, but maybe that’s just because I fall into the “unblessed” category (of not having a significant other to enjoy the holiday with). ;) Enjoy your weekend!

    Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe

    February 16, 2013 at 12:07 am

    • Yeah these will definitely be made and eaten again soon, they were so good! Thanks for posting about them in the first place. :) And happy weekend to you, too!

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:25 pm

  2. It really annoys me when fast food is fortified with extra vitamins and things – why not just eat the proper food or indulge and don’t worry about getting nutrients from a cookie?!

    These look really delicious – I love a thick, chewy cookie :-)

    thelittleloaf

    February 16, 2013 at 12:57 am

    • I know, right? I guess people would rather feel like eating some fortified cookies can serve as both dessert and a meal…? And yes, thick and chewy cookies are the best.

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:27 pm

  3. These look lovely. The lead photo, I think, is one of your best! But do you think that it would be awful of me to replace the chocolate chips with raisins? I don’t know what it is, but I just don’t really care for chocolate chip cookies of any stripe. Oatmeal raisin cookies, however, are a different story.

    A dinner with girlfriends sounds like as good a way to spend Valentine’s Day as any. Octavian and I never do anything for it–probably a combination of principled opposition and laziness.

    Katie

    February 16, 2013 at 8:47 am

    • Thanks, Katie! And I’m sure raisins would be tasty in this. I honestly rarely like chocolate chip cookies…something about them just doesn’t appeal to me at all. I like the chocolate in these, though, because it tastes great with the almond butter and cinnamon. But you should try out raisins!

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:30 pm

  4. Thanks for the idea of using other nut butters in cookies and desserts, peanut butter is so overdone! You’re so right about the absurdity of claiming health benefits for cookies—the Girl Scouts themselves are now in trouble for hawking health claims for their new “Mango Creme” cookie!

    • Haven’t heard about that yet! Silly Girl Scouts.

      And yeah, I thought using almond butter was a great idea. It’s a little unexpected, but I love the flavor they give.

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:31 pm

  5. Loved your post. I dislike all the hype around Valentine’s Day…it all becomes such an obligation and the candy, flower and jewelry stores make you feel like a schmuck if you don’t give a gift on that day! Did you see the last episode of “The Big Bang Theory”? All the single guys have a party at the comic book store, haha. I’m going to make these soon!

    Sheryl

    February 16, 2013 at 10:22 am

    • Make them! :) PS you should make that chocolate-almond torte if you want a sweet… thought of you! Zero fat!

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  6. These cookies look incredible – so full of good stuff!

    Kathryn

    February 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

    • Thanks Kathryn! Yes, they have lots of goodies in them. :)

      Amy

      February 16, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  7. My god…the “blessed.” My feed look like that most days of the week regardless of whether it’s Black Thursday or not [which might be the funniest name for it yet!]. It boggles the mind!

    These cookies would totally make a great breakfast. Yum.

    Michelle

    February 17, 2013 at 12:21 am

    • Haha, yeah come to think of it the whole blessed thing is pretty near constant. But yeah, it just about made me want to die on Black Thursday (awesome name).

      Amy

      February 18, 2013 at 11:20 am

  8. Oh yum! Even though they are cookies, they look like something I’d enjoy for breakfast!

    Erin

    February 18, 2013 at 5:52 am

    • Yes, and they even have a little bit of some redeeming virtuous qualities about them so they would make a decent breakfast on the go. ;)

      Amy

      February 18, 2013 at 11:19 am

  9. Ah these look just like a lovely cookie I just made, so so good!

    Abby @ The Frosted Vegan

    February 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi Abby! I just clicked over to your blog (very cute, by the way) and are you referring to the peanut butter-stuffed ones? Those looks awesome!

      Amy

      February 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

  10. When rock-bottom food is marketed as “healthy” because of its injected iron (is that how they do it? How can they make such a nutritional claim otherwise?), it just seems silly. But when a cookie is made with almond butter and other good old-fashioned not-super-processed ingredients, I get super excited. Especially when the word “chewy” is in the title. I’m a huge fan of chewy.

    These look delicious, Amy! And not *too* guilt-provoking. :)

    Linda

    February 20, 2013 at 6:07 am

    • I agree! In my head, I’ve always imagined the process as big trays of the cookies being made in the factory, and as the last step they get sprinkled with powdery vitamins, almost like spray paint. I know that’s probably not how it works… but that’s the vision I’ve got and I’ll stick with it! ;)

      Amy

      February 20, 2013 at 8:34 am

  11. The cookies look amazing! I love that you call it like it is when it comes to eating real food and being sure to get your vitamins elsewhere. I always wonder exactly how these “vitamin enriched” products work. I probably don’t want to know, haha!

    Rach @ This Italian Family

    February 20, 2013 at 9:39 am

    • Haha yeah. The night I made these I had a big bowl of roasted brussels sprouts for dinner, then I had 4 of these for dessert… I mean that’s only so sustainable, but at least I know I was keeping dinner and dessert separate!

      Amy

      February 20, 2013 at 2:44 pm

  12. This is a great recipe. I love the addition of flax. Must try soon….

    chefconnie

    February 22, 2013 at 6:14 am

  13. these sound so yummy. i love rolled oats in cookies, they almost taste better than four because of the nutty flavor they give off. can’t wait to make these one day :)

    dollyandoatmeal

    February 22, 2013 at 6:59 am

  14. I made these today and didn’t follow the recipe exactly (by mistake) and added too much coconut oil, so I had to add more oats and flaxseed meal to soak up the extra moisture, but they still came out so delicious! I also added a few chopped walnuts. So yummy! Thanks Amy!

    Mutti

    March 17, 2013 at 3:53 pm

  15. Hi! I followed your recipe to a tee and these cookies came out delicious! Has anyone tried honey or maple syrup in place of the sugar? I was just wondering if that would work in this recipe, and if you’re supposed to use a 1 to 1 replacement amount?

    Nicole A

    June 25, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    • Thanks for your comment, Nicole. I’ve never tried the honey or maple syrup, but if I ever try it I’ll let you know how it turns out (I hope you do the same!). I would probably use slightly less honey/maple syrup than the amount of sugar called for– and you may have to adjust the amount of oats if the dough is too wet.

      Amy

      June 26, 2013 at 8:42 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 525 other followers