the moveable feasts

Or maybe it’s the weather or something like that

with 11 comments

le sapin

So I haven’t been around on here lately. Maybe you’ve noticed! I would have an excuse but honestly every time someone asks me why I haven’t posted in awhile the answer always seems blaringly obvious: I haven’t felt like it.

I have something of a love-hate relationship with blogs, blogging, photography, and if we wanna keep going here, the internet in general. You might disagree with me (and by might I mean probably), but I think blogs do a pretty fine job of inherently being a caricature of real life. I know I’m far from being the first person to be disillusioned by the blog world and I realize that I really don’t have any original content to add to the general body of anti-internet complaints.

But in acknowledging that, along with the fact that I’m treading really close to making this post be seriously pseudo-intellectual (whatever, probably already crossed that line), I do want to share this one quote by Max Frisch that I’ve always really, really been drawn to. He says that “technology is the knack of so arranging the world so that we don’t have to experience it.” Sometimes I hate the fact that I’m making my own false arrangement of the world by having a blog where I post up pretty pictures of plated meals and Parisien streets. (I’ve kinda already complained about this two years ago in a post about Christmas cookies and the Nutcracker.)

But sometimes it comes in handy. For example, I’ve been thinking about food lately, a lot. Must be something about the holidays. As a result I’ve been spending a lot of time doing things like catching up on food blogs or wandering through Nigel Slater archives from the Guardian (the best). This time of year makes me want to spend about 90% of my time in a warm kitchen, and unfortunately the reality is I spend probably less than half an hour each day there. When I daydream about baking gingerbread or walk past a store with pretty plates and napkins and cool teas I mutter something about how “I just wish I had my own place…” to which whatever friend I’m with tells me, “but Amy, you do have your own place.” They’re obviously referring to my independent studio and the fact that I don’t live-in with my host family like some of my friends here. But really, can you count a place that doesn’t have a kitchen a home? No, no, no way! I mean, the kitchen is like the center of everything! The table comes first!! (Really really good book about food and france and eating and family and history and basically everything I like in this world. By the way.) One of my friends laughed when I said I can’t get in the Christmas mood because I don’t have my own place to bake cookies and cook, but to me Christmas is just as much about the smell of spices and butter and sugar as it is of pine needles, if not more so.

So anyway, yeah I’ve been a little restless lately regarding cooking and baking; food blogs and the thought of posting on my own food blog have once again become a welcome pastime. With that being said (and this is mainly a word to my poor dad who finally started reading my blog because he was interested in my Paris life), I do hope to minimize the amount of show-off-y Paris I photograph and write about. For some reason I have this huge fear of this blog becoming a run-of-the-mill travel expat blog with stereotypically pretty photos of Paris and pastries, but I have no qualms about this being a run-of-the-mill food blog. I realize there need not be black-and-white boundaries between the categories of what this blog is and isn’t—really, I think the best blogs out there blur the lines. But it seems like an important distinction for me to make, for some reason.

Anyway, I hope you all had a nice Thanksgiving, if you celebrate that sort of thing. This is a little glimpse into how mine went:

a mess

Naw, but in the end everything was alright. When my French family heard it was Thanksgiving, they went to a traiteur and got some traditional French fête (celebration) food: really, really good cured smoked salmon, served on blinis with crème fraîche and lemon, a shrimp and lobster haricots verts salad, and a vinegary potato salad. For dessert we had apple pie and this butternut squash pie. It didn’t feel like a traditional Thanksgiving by any means, but at least it’s comforting to know that some things just don’t translate.

Written by Amy

December 9, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve missed reading your blog! Soon you will have a temporary kitchen all to yourself, for 10 whole days, and I expect you to use it a lot! xo

    Sheryl

    December 9, 2013 at 12:50 pm

  2. Couldn’t have said this better myself (actually, you’re always 100x more eloquent than me). I feel this exact way when I go days/weeks between postings.

    Really, the blog is an extension of you, and as long as you stay true to how you’re feeling about the whole thing, it’ll all turn out right. Besides, I can watch all of your pretty Parisian things on instagram. Win-win. :)

    Michelle

    December 9, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    • Ah you always leave me the best comments. Thanks, Michelle.

      Amy

      December 12, 2013 at 12:58 am

  3. lady, this post totally spoke to me right now. i hope you know that there’s absolutely no pressure on you at all – just post when you feel like it, it shouldn’t be a chore! i do always love reading your blog though – your way with words & your beautiful photography make themoveablefeasts such a delight, genuinely. almost as good as the nigel slater archives – which you’re right, are the absolute best! have you had a chance to watch any of his new christmas cooking tv show? it’s magical – track it down if you can!
    the hobbit kitchen x

    holly ; the hobbit kitchen

    December 10, 2013 at 2:35 am

    • Thank you, Holly! Such a nice comment. And no!! I’ve only seen a short clip of one of his epsiodes once, that I found on youtube. Going to head back there now to try and find more – thanks for recommending it. I’m so jealous of Britain’s cooking shows – Nigel Slater, Nigella Lawson, Rachel Khoo… sigh.

      Amy

      December 12, 2013 at 1:00 am

  4. Well just know that you’ve been missed. Sending you some holiday hugs!

    Amanda @ Once Upon a Recipe

    December 10, 2013 at 12:56 pm

  5. I totally know what you mean. Sometimes I think “I can’t post that. This is a food blog.” But I think I’ve found that posting what I most feel like posting (whether it’s food or not) makes for a better blog.

    Erin

    December 11, 2013 at 4:56 am

    • Yes, we should all just do what we want! I created this blog for myself – I need to remind myself to keep it that way.

      Amy

      December 12, 2013 at 1:01 am

  6. Amy, I think it’s hard not to be a little ambivalent about blogging on some days. It can involve editing, contrivance – not always very inspiring things. But I’m heartened by the fact that blogging has connected me to some pretty cool people (like you!) that I probably would never have otherwise run into.

    I think I’d quickly be driven crazy without a kitchen of my own. I hope that you get to do some holiday baking soon!

    Katie

    December 12, 2013 at 6:17 am

  7. […] from here.  I went to this exhibition of children’s books and memorabilia. Twice. Inspired by this post I got to musing about what I write on this food+book-ish blog and how it represents such a small […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers