the moveable feasts

2013, in a few songs

with 8 comments

ave victor hugo, at night

To continue my trend of not really talking or sharing any food around here (despite my recent statements saying I really had some serious intentions to do just that), I really have no interest in doing a sort of re-cap with my favorite recipes of the year—just not in the mood for it. And it’s kind of already really too late, anyway. I do however have a handful of songs I’d like to share, ones that sum up 2013 for me. Since arriving in Paris, especially, a certain few songs have come to define life lately. I blame the fact that I only have about 30 listen-able songs on my iphone that I recycle through on a daily basis while riding the metro. Obviously, this post is mostly for my own pleasure, but who knows? Maybe some of you are looking for some new (seasonally-appropriate) music. And if nothing else… naw, I got nothing. So here goes, a year in music and all the feels:

WINTER

Sweet Thing by Jeff Buckley, always and forever
Gagging Order by Radiohead
Hunger Strike, by Temple of the Dog (Pearl Jam + Soundgarden)
Breather by Chapterhouse

SPRING

I’ll Believe in Anything by Wolf Parade
Disorder by Joy Division
Dancing On My Own by Robyn

SUMMER

Something Good and Dissolve Me by Alt-J, especially in the cote d’azur
Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke
Hard to Explain by the Strokes and the entire Is This It album

FALL-NOW

R U Mine? by Arctic Monkeys
September by Earth, Wind & Fire
Might Be Wrong by Radiohead, on late/early metro rides home
Feel the Pain by Dinasour Jr.
Tomorrow is A Long Time by Bob Dylan (Whitmark Demos only, please)

Written by Amy

January 15, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was going to comment on your posts on your time in Paris..then thought it was none of my business… I am probably am old enough to be your grandmother..I first visited paris in 1961.. a newly graduated nurse..i /we have visited there many times and for our 50th anniversary this past year..my present was a week in Paris..hope you will look back at your time there as a gift!! Happy2014 Barb

    Barb Bowen

    January 15, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    • Hi Barb, thanks for commenting. This is a public space, so really, nothing is off limits or “none of your business” ! And yes, Paris is always a gift (the best, I think?), and thank you for the reminder of that. Sometimes I forget to appreciate it.

      Bonne année

      Amy

      January 16, 2014 at 12:21 pm

  2. Some beautiful songs, especially the last one.

    Sheryl

    January 15, 2014 at 8:57 pm

  3. Always good to have a song post – you need music to bake by! :-)

    thelittleloaf

    January 16, 2014 at 3:13 am

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I always love your music posts. I definitely just made a “Paris Playlist” on Spotify to listen to. Music is a must for background noise at work, and now that I’m taking the train to/fro.

    Michelle

    January 16, 2014 at 9:36 am

  5. hey!! its mid feb so this 2013 post looks a little outdated… fyi!

    Lindsey

    February 15, 2014 at 10:52 am

    • hadn’t realized it, thanks linds NOT

      Amy

      February 16, 2014 at 1:02 am

  6. oh girl, jeff buckley forever & ever, but especially for winter. this is such a perfect playlist! and i’d never heard of wolf parade before either but that song is a beaut, so thank you. do you ever use 8tracks? i’m absolutely obsessed with it right now, and there are some beautiful seasonal playlists on there.
    the hobbit kitchen x

    holly ; the hobbit kitchen

    February 16, 2014 at 3:54 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 516 other followers