the moveable feasts

where I was, last week

with 7 comments

barcelona //

barcelona from parc guell
barcelona
paella, cheap spanish beer
the best breakfast, maybe ever
parc guell

lisbon //

lisbon
lisbon lisbon
pastel de nata
belem, lisbon
the sea lisbon
lisbon
off the coast of sintra, portugal

I always start one of these posts by writing a lot, trying to sum up feelings and memories about places that will always hold a certain, special spot in the passing consciousnesses—that string of days spent waking up (and going to sleep) way too late on a bed that’s not yours in a city that’s not yours, caught in that dream-like state of not really fully comprehending reality all the while knowing something about it is special because of that magical charm of knowing it’s all just temporary.

I frankly don’t know if it’s because I’m out of school now and thus have become exponentially less articulate or if it’s because I’m just plain lazy, but either way, I always end up deleting whatever I end up writing. Nothing ever seems to fit—no boring summaries, no advice or tips, nor even any pseudo-intellectual thoughts regarding perspective or shared memories or the fleetingness of feelings or, to quote my man Fitzgerald, being very young and free in a civilization that is very old and free.

So all I’ll say is: Lisbon, it’s my favorite. Sun and sea and a pureness that I can’t describe (probably a good sign, all the better for it). I’d like to say I’ll be back, soon, but eh let’s not kid ourselves—I’ve got other strings of nights to spend elsewhere.

Music: the demo “I’ll Try Anything Once” by The Strokes

Written by Amy

April 30, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glorious photos, Amy. I’ve never been to Portugal but loved wandering round Park Guell in Barcelona. Also, can’t tell you how many times I’ve rambled on about something only to delete the lot! Which, given how rambly my posts are anyway, is…something. Also, thanks for linking to that Strokes song, it’s ace!

    hungryandfrozen

    April 30, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    • Yeah unfortunately the weather was being a real bitch almost the whole time in Barcelona, so parc guell felt more like I was stuck in a hot, humid steam room. The wandering was still fun, though, for sure.

      Amy

      May 1, 2014 at 3:45 am

  2. You have captured the feelings of traveling so well.

    Your whole written piece is beautiful. Simply beautiful……..

    Sheryl

    April 30, 2014 at 4:27 pm

  3. Perfect timing. I am so excited to follow in your footsteps.

    Michelle

    April 30, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    • So jealous that you’re going to Porto too. Portugal is top, you’ll have lots of fun. I hope you share more about your experience than I have here.

      Amy

      May 1, 2014 at 3:44 am

  4. Beautiful! Both of those cities have long been on my list of places I want to visit.

    Erin

    May 2, 2014 at 5:42 am

  5. Isn’t Lisbon absolutely incredible?! The custard tarts and tiled buildings are to die for!
    Xx

    Hayley

    August 13, 2014 at 2:55 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers